India vs West Indies, 1st T20I


West Indies have endured a hard tour, losing both Tests inside three days and then going down 3-1 in the subsequent one-day series.

The stats also favour the World T20 holders who have a 5-2 head-to-head record from eight exchanges from 2009-17.

With regular skipper Virat Kohli and ex-skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni missing the series and West Indies squad boosted by the inclusion of T20 specialists like Kieron Pollard, Evin Lewis, Darren Bravo and skipper Carlos Brathwaite, it promises to be a keen contest.

He has a world record score of 264 in ODIs at the Eden Gardens in 2014, besides winning two IPL titles, in 2013 and 2015.

India vs West Indies live stream: After sweeping Test and ODI series against the struggling West Indies team, India will be hoping to continue its fine form in the first T20I which will be played at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on Sunday. The seasoned Mumbai batsman was the second highest scorer behind Kohli, scoring 389 runs at 129.66, that included two hundreds.

Pant is expected to fulfil the wicket-keeping responsibilities while Karthik could take on one of the positions in the outfield.

More news: At least seven killed in attack on Coptic Christian bus in Egypt

India's last win against West Indies came way back on March 23, 2014 in the World T20 in Bangladesh, and Sharma will have his task cut out in his quest to start well at his happy hunting ground.

The Kolkata Knight Riders all-rounder was conspicuous by his absence as a 13-member West Indies squad led by Carlos Brathwaite sweated it out under lights this evening. In fact, Windies have beaten India five times out of the seven matches that both teams have been a part of.

Darren Bravo, Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell will be back for the T20Is.

Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, K Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav.

Coming to the T20 games, India will start as favourites after cantering to a 3-1 ODI series win and two test victories prior to that.