A New Kind Of Secure! Facebook Unveils Facial Recognition

Share

The website will also notify you if someone used your face for their profile picture.

The new Facebook facial recognition feature is created to detect when users appear in other people's photos, even if they're not tagged, and notify them so they can manage the situation. Users will need to change it to "Friends", and the Photo Review will be turned on.

Privacy experts argue that since Facebook is poised to beef up its facial recognition powers, it should also become more transparent about such decisions.

Lack of control over the use of facial recognition algorithms on user images prompted a lawsuit against Facebook in 2015.

More news: Facebook Report Shows Major Spike In Government's User Data Requests

To Facebook's credit, the company plans to implement a meaningful level of control: It has implemented a global on/off switch to avoid facial recognition entirely.

Privacy experts are concerned that by granting Facebook access to such an enormous database of faces, the company could amass too much power as a private entity.

The expansion of this commitment, a feature called Photo Review, triggers a notification to anyone who is part of the audience of a post containing a picture of the individual, regardless of tagging. After switching it on, it will recognize your photos on Facebook and will notify you. With the new facial recognition features, the lumbering social media network will alert you to uploaded photos in which you are featured - so long as you are in a group permitted to see them by the uploader. The new Facebook Photo Review will roll out globally in the next few weeks, except for Canada and Europe, where facial recognition tech would violate privacy laws.

"We want people to feel confident when they post pictures of themselves on Facebook so we'll soon begin using face recognition technology to let people know when someone else uploads a photo of them as their profile picture". This could also prove to be helpful in cases when one person tries to impersonate another or when users fear adding photos of themselves because they're anxious they might end up in the wrong hands or be widely distributed without their permission or knowledge.

Share