BJP scores massive win in UP civic polls, Congress suffers jolt


"We say BJP's winning percentage is 46% when elections were conducted through EVMs and it was as low as 15% when polling was done through ballot papers". Overall, the BJP received 54.7 lakh votes, the SP 31.9 lakh, the BSP 25.4 lakh, the Congress 17.6 lakh and the independents 36.6 lakh, as per the State Election Commission data. The party did field a candidate from Amethi town, which has been won by the BJP, but its candidate in Jais was at a poor fourth position after several rounds of counting, with the BJP's Mahesh Sonkar leading. Winner Candidates: -On the Uttar Pradesh civic poll result which is all set to announce seems like the early gains for BJP aka Bharatiya Janata Party government.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has tweeted his congratulations to CM Adityanath and party workers on the BJP's emphatic victory.

State Civic polls was held in three phases on November 22, 26 and 29. Akhilesh Yadav-led SP failed to win a single mayoral seat.

BJP's mayor candidates have won in Varanasi, Ghaziabad, Gorakhpur, Agra, Bareilly, Ayodhya, Firozabad, Lucknow, Mathura, Kanpur, Saharanpur, Jhansi, Bareilly, and Moradabad.

In 2012, the BJP had bagged 10 out of the 12 mayoral seats in the state.

More news: Fortnite Becomes Xbox One X Enhanced With Newest Patch

Independent Rajendra Kumar Singh won the Sirathu Nagar Pacnhayat seat while SP's Urmila Devi emerged victorious in Karari Nagar.

There were some surprises for the BJP which lost all the six seats of chairmen of Nagar Panchayats in the home turf of Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Maurya's bastion, according to media reports.

Calling it a huge mandate, Adityanath said that the results have shown that people have faith in the BJP. In Lucknow, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath took a swipe at Gandhi while pointing out that his party, the Congress "has been wiped out in Amethi".

"I am going to Gujarat today with a positive message from UP", the deputy CM said.