Counting of votes in Vengara bypoll begins


In 2016 assembly elections, it won 7,055 votes in this constituency. This time, the victory margin of the UDF candidate has shown a decline of 14747 votes.

The Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) candidate KNA Khader who contested as candidate of the United Democratic Front won the elections gaining 23,310 votes more than the LDF candidate who came second.

The Left voteshare has registered a rise - from 34,124 votes in 2016 to 41,917 votes in 2017.

However, NDA slipped to 4th spot as BJP candidate K J Janachandran Master managed to get only 5728 votes. For those who are not familiar with the developments, the Vengara Assembly bypoll is taking place, following PK Kunhalikutty's resignation as sitting MLA and then his subsequent election to the Lok Sabha from Malappuram this yea, after the demise of prominent leader E. Ahamed.

The Election Commission has not officially announced the results as yet.

However, the UDF will examine the fall of votes vis-à-vis the relations between the Congress and the IUML in different panchayats in the constituency.

More news: Cavaliers, Hawks Discussing Deal for Richard Jefferson and Kay Felder

Having polled 8,648 votes, the SDPI was upbeat.

While the UDF candidate secured a total of 65227 votes, LDF candidate P P Basheer secured 41917 votes and Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI) candidate K C Naseer secured the third position with 8648 votes.

CPI (M) state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan responded that the increased vote share of the LDF in the constituency is the response of the people to the good performance of the state government.

The AAP has fielded Major General (retd) Suresh Khajuria, who is now third.

The Gurdaspur by-election was necessitated by the death of actor-turned-politician Vinod Khanna, a BJP MP.

Tight security arrangements have been made at the counting centres, an official said. PP Basheer was Kunhalikutty's opponent in the Assembly election also and IUML was not expecting anything less than a majority of 30,000 votes in the bypolls also.