Congress wins Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll by 1.9 lakh votes


Maintaining its winning streak from the assembly elections, Punjab's ruling Congress secured an emphatic win in the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat on Sunday.

Jakhar, who is the Punjab Congress President, was leading over BJP's Salaria while Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate Maj. With the exception of 2009, Khanna had represented the seat consecutively since 1998. The Gurdaspur by-polls was conducted on 11th October where around 56 percent of the 15.22 lakh registered. As per the reports, the counting centre for the six assembly constituencies of Gurdaspur district, set up at Sukhjindra College Gurdaspur and the counting centre for the three assembly constituencies of Pathankot district set up at the SD College in Pathankot.

His party colleague and a minister in the Punjab government, former India cricketer, Navjot Singh Sudhu said, "This is a attractive Diwali gift, packed with a red ribbon, for our would-be-party president Rahul Gandhi".

More news: Pentagon looking into reported death of Islamic State's 'White Widow'

Khaira stated that 11 by elections took place during the last 10 years of SAD-BJP rule namely Dhuri, Talwandi Sabo, Khadur Sahib, Moga, Patiala, Dear Bassi, Amritsar South, Kahnuwan, Dasuya, Nurmahal and Nawanshahar.

On the fact that the Congress' win in Gurdaspur bypoll would not make much difference to the NDA tally in the Lok Sabha numerically, Sidhu said, "The mental scars will remain because it is a mental game". "It is a demoralising defeat for them, it has sent them packing", he said. "Everyone knows that even the sarpanches owing allegiance to the BJP and the SAD were warned that they will be dealt with strictly if the two allies got a lead in their respective areas in the by-poll". The seat is an IUML stronghold. The AAP candidate retired Major General Suresh Khajuria, lost his security deposit.