Ireland Could Meet Familiar Foes In UEFA Nations League


Scotland will play in League C, which will be broken into four groups when the draw takes place on January 24, 2018.

Chris Coleman's side had been on course to challenge the likes of England, Germany, Spain, Italy and France for the inaugural title in European football's third major worldwide competition but lost out by less than 600 coefficient points.

The top-four ranked teams from each Nations league that fail to qualify for the Euros in the traditional route will enter play-offs in March 2020 to decide the last four places for the first finals to be held across the continent.

The four teams finishing bottom of their group will be relegated.

All 55 Uefa nations have been assigned to a league, with 12 teams each in League A and B, 15 in C and 16 in D.

The pots for the first ever UEFA Nations League have been confirmed, with the Netherlands, who failed to qualify for the World Cup, being handed some consolation by snatching a top spot from Wales following the final round of World Cup qualifying.

The victor of each of the four groups will be drawn to face each other in a Euro 2020 play-off.

The Republic of Ireland are in League B along with Austria, Wales, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Ireland, Denmark, Czech Republic and Turkey.

More news: Car PLOUGHS into pedestrians in London

League A will consist of the 12 top-ranked teams.

The seedings, as seen below, are based on each nation's UEFA coefficient as it now stands, meaning - among other things - that Iceland have made it into the top pot...

But, for Ireland, the interest will be greater should they fail to reach Euro 2020 through the normal qualifying campaign which will see ten groups of five or six teams with two to qualify automatically.

UEFA first approved the tournament in 2014, and has chose to split the 55 countries into four so-called "leagues", based on its coefficient rankings.

Starting next year, there will be four leagues, with each country placed in a division rated on their level.

The winners of the four groups in League A will qualify for the Final Four competition.

League D: Azerbaijan, Macedonia, Belarus, Georgia, Armenia, Latvia, Faroe Islands, Luxembourg, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Malta, Andorra, Kosovo, San Marino, Gibraltar.