Russell Westbrook's Thunder extension reportedly most lucrative in National Basketball Association history


While the threat of Westbrook following Durant out the door loomed for Oklahoma City, the team was in a stronger negotiating position this time around.

According to Adrian Wojnarowski, league sources told ESPN that Russell Westbrook has signed for the Designated Player Veteran Extension with the Thunder.

The deal begins with the 2018-19 season, and puts Westbrook under contract with the Thunder through the 2022-23 campaign. Harden's $228 million extension signed July 8 averages out to $38 million per season.

In the days since Oklahoma City was eliminated from last season's playoffs, the Thunder roster has been completely revitalized.

After trading for Paul George and Carmelo Anthony, the Oklahoma City Thunder gave Russell Westbrook the largest contract in National Basketball Association history.

More news: Green Bay Packers' Davante Adams Taken Off Field After Hit

The news-coming on Kevin Durant's birthday, no less-caps off what's been an extraordinary offseason for Oklahoma City.

With new running mates in George and Anthony, the focus now shifts toward locking in this new-look "Big Three". Here are the latest details on Westbrook's major deal and the National Basketball Association season ahead. The city will not face the prospect of another star athlete departing the state as Russell Westbrook has reportedly decided that he is all in with the Thunder. "I am so honored to have the opportunity to continue my career here with the Thunder".

Originally selected by Oklahoma City with the fourth overall pick in the 2008 NBA Draft, Westbrook has helped guide the Thunder to the postseason in seven of the last nine seasons. While giving Westbrook a supporting cast was much needed, he proved how far he can take his team as well as achieve some meteoric goals.

Our models project Westbrook for 26.9 points, 6.4 rebounds, 8.8 assists, 1.9 steals, and 4.7 turnovers per game while shooting 42.9% from the floor in 2017-18.