What it means for you

Share

Twitter has also introduced more granular controls on the same page.

If you go to the "Your Twitter data" section of your account settings, you'll see there's a lot of information there about your activity and how you're being advertised to.

Twitter has launched a new set of tools to give its users more access to their information and more control over how it's used.

You can also request to see a list of advertisers who have categorized you into various groups, as well as see how many groups you're in.

In my case, I'm part of over 5800 "audiences" and am apparently of interest to some 1800 advertisers, as well as boasting 62 interests and using 74 apps to Twitter's knowledge. You can find this under "Settings" as well, as "Your Twitter data". If you later visit the site promoted, the site can read that cookie and note that you saw the ad. If you like, you can leave them all active, which is the default, or you can uncheck every box and turn it all off. For example, if a user visits shopping websites on laptop with Twitter signed-in then they can use the Personalisation and Data settings to help control whether the platform should show shopping related ads on Twitter for Android or iOS. When browser users had a Do Not Track setting enabled, any service that honored DNT wasn't supposed to track that person.

Image twitter screenshots  kerry flynn
Image twitter screenshots kerry flynn

The company claims that it never links users' web history with details that can identify them, such as their name, email address, phone number or Twitter handle.

It's equal parts amusing and alarming, but you can see how Twitter perceives your personal interests, how many advertisers have you in their cross hairs, which apps Twitter knows are on your device, and where it thinks you've been.

It's no surprise-DNT has turned out to be a silly system and an unrealistic idea. The feature was created to allow anyone who used it to keep advertisers from tracking browser histories. Twitter is able to monitor any website you visit when you're logged in to Twitter and visiting a site with a Twitter button or an embedded tweet.

This information will now be stored for 30 days, whereas previously Twitter only retained data for 10 days.

The first of these changes involves the length of time the site stores web data. Updates were made to the transparency and control, web data, data sharing, personalization across devices and privacy shield, and the digital advertising alliance portions of the privacy policy and settings. So if you don't want that information shared, definitely make sure you update that "Personalization and Data" portion of your profile.

More news: English soccer introduces retrospective bans for simulation

Share