Trump on Pats, 'No team has been good this long'


The Patriots last won the USA football championship in 2015, earning a similar show of congratulations from then-president Barack Obama.

While Brady has supported Trump and the president considers the MVP quarterback a longtime friend, Bundchen has been vocal in her displeasure of Trump.

Brady, the game's most valuable player, skipped the ceremony, citing family matters - his mother, who has been battling a health ailment for the last 18 months, is said to be in town. In fact, a quick scan of photos through the years suggests that the high attendance at the Obama White House in 2015 was an anomaly-which nonetheless can't be welcome news for Trump.

The Patriots are the first major sports champions to have the opportunity to visit Trump's White House. There are 64 players listed on the Patriots' active team roster, though it's unclear how many were invited.

As we learned before the Super Bowl, Tom's mother, Galynn Brady, has been battling cancer over the a year ago, so many are anxious that the "personal family matter" he skipped White House event for has to do with her.

More news: The Toronto Raptors are losing to the future, again

The rest of the Patriots will still attend the ceremony honoring the team for its Super Bowl win, despite Hernandez's suicide. "But thank you", Spicer responded.

The president praised the "culture dedicated to winning" that coach Bill Belichick created in the Patriots organization. Hernandez hanged himself in his prison cell while serving a life sentence for the 2011 murder of Odin Lloyd, just days after he was acquitted in a separate double murder case.

Players have turned down White House invites ever since such events began to take off under President Ronald Reagan. As for Branch, he told CNN's Don Lemon, he declined the visit because of sexists comments the President made about women on an Access Hollywood video.

Pictures shared by the New York Times appear to show fewer people at the event than when President Obama hosted the team in 2015.