LHU awarded NCAA Tournament Sites


Unveiling its site selections Tuesday for almost all of its championships between 2018 and 2022, the NCAA awarded several events to the St. Louis region and to the University of IL. Three of the Sooners' 10 NCAA men's gymnastics titles have been won in Norman, including in 2015 when the university most recently hosted the championships.

The 2018 NCAA Championships will be held March 15-17 at Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, Ohio.

The NCAA awarded the championship to the UW Tuesday - the first time Wisconsin has hosted the event since 1978 when it was held at Yahara Hills Golf Course. After reviewing the submissions from NCAA member schools, conferences, sports commissions and cities, the respective NCAA sports committees and the divisional championships cabinets/committees selected the sites. In Erie, Mercyhurst will host the women's Frozen Four.

The NCAA announced on Tuesday afternoon that Omaha has been awarded the final week of the NCAA volleyball tournament in 2020.

In Division I men's basketball, the Midwest Regional, which OR won over Kansas last month, will return to the Sprint Center in 2019.

More news: Starbucks Calls Shifting-Color Drink a 'Unicorn Frappuccino'

Kansas City submitted a total of 55 bids for nine sports during the four-year period.

The NCAA selected more than 600 host sites for preliminary rounds and finals of predetermined championships in Divisions I, II and III planned from 2017-18 through 2021-22.

In addition to these events, OU is scheduled to continue co-hosting the NCAA Women's College World Series through at least 2020 in Oklahoma City.

"We're excited to join such great partners in welcoming these NCAA national championships to the Lancaster area", stated Discover Lancaster President Kathleen Frankford.

Brad McMakin, Arkansas men's golf coach, said the school spent about two years putting together its bid at The Blessings, which hosted its first NCAA regional on the men's side in 2013. The men's and women's races will be held November 17 at the Thomas Zimmer Championship Course, the Badgers' current home.